Gaurisagar Tank & Temples
Gaurisagar is the name given to Bezgaon by the Ahom Queen Phuleswari after the construction of three temples. Neighbouring these temples is a well-known tank, Gaurisagar encompassing an area of 400 Bighas of land which was excavated by Queen Phuleswari, wife of the Ahom king Shiva Singha (1714-44) in 1723. On its north bank one can see the magnificent temples known as Devidol, Vishnudol and Shivadol. The Devidol is decorated with various sandstone sculptures engraved in the temple walls, something that captivates its admirers for its exquisite artistry and craftsmanship of the artists of that time.
The Shivadol adjoining the Devidol is the biggest among the three measuring 32 yards in height and 60 yards in perimeter, the Vishnu Dol is 20 yards in height and 45 yards in perimeter and the Devidol is 20 yards in height and 40 yards in perimeter. One of the chosen destinations by tourists across the globe, the site is also known for its architectural grandeur adopting three designs for the construction of these temples Nagara, Nilachala and circular Shikhara styles for Devidol, Vishnudol and Shivadol. Also the Tank is frequently visited by migratory birds especially during winter.
Gaurisagar Tank & Temples is under the juridiction of Gaurisagar PS. Their contact number as per our record is 03772-250089.
Nearest Madical Facilty to Gaurisagar Tank & Temples is Sivasagar Civil Hospital. Their contact number as per our record is 060267-40139.