Hosted By NIC |
Designed by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.
Hide Menu
Show Navigation
Destinations | Dist. Wise | Baksa

Baksa district was carved out of a part of Nalbari, Barpeta, Kamrup and a small portion of Darrang district. As a result of the historic BTC(Bodoland Territorial Council) accord signed on February 10, 2003, BTAD(Bodoland Territorial Autonomous Districts) was formed with four districts namely Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri.

Baksa district has an area of 2400 sq km and the district headquarters is Mushalpur. As the original word 'Baksa' has been derived from various sources and antecedents, there exists a lot of controversy over the name and a good chunk of population prefer to use 'Bagsa' in lieu of 'Baksa'. Though there are many popular sources and folklores about the origin of the name, no historical source has been found till date.

Hide Show
Show Menu